plugging away

Back on track.

Something has started to click over the last two days of writing;  annoying gaps in the plot are starting to fill themselves in, disparate scenes and events are slowly shuffling into some kind of order.  A few characters’ motivations are taking shape and helping me to tighten up scenes.  My number one crush character of the year has been surprising me with observations he makes and with risks he is suddenly ready to take;  I’ve been trying to put him under some nastier pressure instead of just letting him be his lovely self.  My troublesome female lead is finally growing a pair, if you will.  The gardener in me is gearing up to rip out, divide and replant some puzzling not-so-lead characters.  It’s not easy though.  Tough love is tough.   

Obviously typing this way to an audience of zero about non existant people is the height of crazy, but it’s a crazy that feels so good.  I want to remember this feeling so that I can get through the next period of feeling unproductive or stumped.  I’ve never stayed this long or worked this consistently on a writing piece before.  I like it.

Research,imagery and little secrets this week include the lives of ants and bees and trees, the chalk and spate stream systems of the Midlands, fly fishing secrets for duffers and the way a banjo player’s hands skim up and down the strings.

4 responses to “plugging away

  1. Love your blog! I share many of the same sentiments. I get off the bandwagon all the time and pull myself back. Are you familiar with National Novel Writing Month? If not, check it out at http://www.nanowrimo.org. Basically you devote the entire month of November to writing a novel of at least 50,000 words. I “won” in 2009 because I had 50k words, but I wasn’t near finished. Finally finished my novel (the first thing I’VE ever finished!) in June and it felt great. And now I’m allowing myself to edit (it’s good for learning to tune out the internal editor so that you can get more writing accomplished and then weed out, tighten up, and rip apart later). It was a great experience for me, and I’m hoping to do it again this year.

    I’ll definitely be checking in on your blog to see how your writing efforts are going! Good luck to you.
    Renee

    • Thanks for stopping by, Renee
      I was hoping to meet some other novelists/bloggers out there– appreciate the feedback!
      I have nanowrimoed a couple times (can you verb that particular noun? haha) with one win and one fail under my belt.
      It definitely helped me tune out the self-edit, and it’s surprising (or at least it was surprising to me) what actually comes up when you force yourself through that kind of a daily word count. embarrassing confession time- prior to that, I think I seriously thought that dicking around and not working particularly hard made me artsy.
      bleurg.
      I think I’ll try again this year, but if I’m still this far behind with this particular draft, I might give it a miss.
      I am a chronic starter of new more exciting projects when pre existing projects become hard work… gotta cut the habit.
      Yell at me if you catch me slackin’
      Later!
      -jen

  2. Totally understandable – I’m the same way. I find it hard to make myself work when it gets tough. I think that’s why I’m having so much trouble editing my novel right now. I think I secretly just hope that I’ll be the first person ever to write a totally perfect first draft (which I know is impossible and I know my draft is about the furthest thing from perfect) so that I can move on to something else. I distract myself with more exciting pieces, too. You seem to be doing a lot of research for your book, though. I hate researching so I just make sure that I write stories where I have to do as little of it as possible, haha. I’m such a lazy writer!

  3. You could say ‘efficient’ instead of lazy!
    My laziness kicks into high gear when I know I’m telling instead of showing, but I don’t put in the time and effort to fix it right away.
    As long as we’re willing to admit we have flaws and we keep working on it, right? 🙂
    I know the saying is ‘write what you know’, but I just kept wanting to get it on in 1880s Britain. I need to follow the main interest and inspiration if I’m going to stay married to this thing for the next couple of years… so recherche it is.
    Honestly, research is a strong word for what I do- there are a few real people in my story (which is its own can of worms! You are giving me ideas for more posts,)
    I’m working on a weird blend of family anecdotes, trips and visits and tourist traps, biographies, writing from the period, photographs, newspaper archives, magazines–things I already knew or thought I knew from other books/movies, fact checking galore… learning one interesting fact always seems to lead to exploring another…

Leave a Reply

