It begins!

DRAFT TWO is underway.

I realised I had more post-it-notes than manuscript, and my attempts to fix the existing pages were just frustrating and annoying me. I’m a different writer than I was back when I started this project in January. I felt like a do-over! Which is what a second draft is, obviously, I just didn’t make the connection until it happened to me…about two and a half hours ago.

I am following the Tao of Renee, writing a second draft using my first draft and attached post its as guidelines.
No cut and paste allowed!

For this pass, I am also doing a few tricks I read about in an article on Annie Dillard’s writing class. I have no idea how I stumbled on it, or I would put a link here. I also read it through mightly quickly and took zero notes. Take anything I’m about to say with a grain of salt!
I moved my last chapter to the beginning. (Holy crap, she was right! That does look better. For now, anyway.)
I am putting all my death and disease cards on the table right at the top (She seemed to think this was important. It works for me as I have a deathly disease prone main character to introduce, haha.)

The last paraphrased-from-Dillard trick I shall try, and my main area of concentration for this pass, is to focus on verbs verbs verbs. Specificity of verbs/actions. I like my characters and the things they’re getting up to a little better already.

Chapter one and the intro to chapter two down… eleventy billion to go.

How is everyone’s writing week going so far?

3 responses to “It begins!

  1. Been crazy busy, so just catching up. I laughed a little when I saw the Tao of Renee… it makes me sound so wise! 🙂

    I’m glad you’re giving it a try. To me it just seemed like the same thing would have happened if I would have done it any other way: I would have become frustrated. Like you said… we change. The writing changes us and our perception of the story changes too.

    If you ever figure out that Annie Dillard link, it sounds awesome! Even just from what you wrote here, those are some interesting ideas. I don’t know if you’re on Twitter or not, but there have been SO MANY articles posted lately… I can’t even keep up with all of them. And they’re almost all useful too. Everyone’s doing the run-up to NaNoWriMo by blitzing articles all over, so if you’re on Twitter, maybe you’ll come across some other good resources. In the meantime… happy writing!

    (and congrats on draft 2 😉 )

  2. I hear ya. I stayed away from Twitter as long as possible. But then Michael Jackson died and I caved because I really wanted to see how he broke the internet 😉

    One of these days I’ll have a new blog post. By the end of the week for sure. I’m getting ready for NaNoWriMo while still trying to edit. My eyes hurt from staring at the computer screen 🙂

Leave a Reply

