scrapyard boneyard

I let my draft sit so long that I can’t get back in the groove.

Instead of editing the thing, I have spent my time creating a long list of reasons why this story sucks, why it is boring and derivative and says nothing new, why I should scrap it and do something else.

But I know my wily self. If I start something else, I’ll just dick around with it for another year or so and then do the same thing all over again.

I have a day off and no commitments today. Time to open up that old smelly garbage bag and go hunting through the q tips, coffee grounds, and forgotten-in-my-bag-since-Monday-tatziki for my golden ticket. Good lordy me.

PS. I was going to go to the library and get that Stephen King book on writing and then make some granola and finish the dishes and then print up a new copy of my draft and get to work.
HoHO, self. Nice try.

PPS. I actually compost a lot. šŸ™‚

5 responses to “scrapyard boneyard

  1. Sometimes I think it’s scary how much alike we seem to be, haha. SAME THING IS HAPPENING TO ME! I’m out of my groove and it suuuuuuuucks. I want to work on the novel, I’ll open it. I’ll look at it. Sometimes I’ll even type something. But then I’m start with the whole “I used to like this but now I just think it’s awful because I started overthinking it too much” nonsense. I know it’s a bunch of bull, but I can’t shut myself up.

    Man. I wish I had some great advice for you. If you figure it out, would you mind kicking my ass into gear too? šŸ™‚

    If you do end up reading that Stephen King book, let me know. I haven’t gotten to it yet. I do recommend Anne Lamott’s book Bird by Bird, though. (It’s about writing… I’m not suggestion random bird books to you, haha.)

    • I boyfriend-girlfriend loved Bird by Bird!
      So far I’ve been plugging away at a draft thirty-three and a third, with some massive changes, and avoiding the walk to library on day off procrastination. So far. But I’m a go pick up that King book soon, and I will report back . Thanks for always having my back interweb-styles… I’ll let you know if I find the golden ticket, haha

  2. Haha, boyfriend-girlfriend loved Bird by Bird. That made me LOL.

  3. Found you via Earful of Cider. Go get that King book. It will help.

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by.
      I’ve been avoiding the library because I owe them money, haha
      Better swing by and pay up.
      Once the triple crown of Easter/Secretary’s Day/Mother’s Day is over (I work in a flower shop) I should have all the time in the world for Mr. King. Pretty stoked!

Leave a Reply

