Let’s punch cancer in the face!

Hey dear wordpress friends

In addition to not getting my novel done, I’ve been taking stock of the old life and trying to think of good things to do.

Over the last couple of years, I’ve been growing my hair out for a wig donation, and this Aug 4 is the big chop. My husband draws more water in these parts than I do, but he’s been bald for about 20 years, so I decided he could donate his facial hair! No, not to cancer. To YOU.

You donate, you enter the draw to decide the Spence’s facial hair style.  So far, I’m all in favour of just shaving it all off, my boss is debating the relative merits of the Hulk Hogan and the curlicued 19th Century Gentleman, and my Mom thinks it would be funny if he shaved off a spot on his chin and left everything else.

It makes me laugh every time I think about it, anyway.

This may not be relevant for all y’all as I don’t think I’m in touch with many Canadians here out of all five of us, haha.
If you are cool with donating to the Canadian Cancer Society, and you’re cool with cut n paste, (WordPress apparently doesn’t want to let me link to things this morning) it’s Jen and Spence’s Excellent Cancer Fundraiser at this site:

http://convio.cancer.ca/site/TR/Thirdpartyevent/IFE_ON_CommunityPartnerships_?px=4185268&pg=personal&fr_id=9750

I’m especially proud of my PR writing on this one.

Have a great weekend!

4 responses to “Let’s punch cancer in the face!

  1. Done! What a great idea! 🙂

  2. Dude! You are awesome! thanks so much!
    I checked my email and it said I had an online donation, and the honor roll beside my thermometer graphic said Renee… then I wracked my brains for which Renees I knew, and I knew you knew I knew it was you…
    So many more thanks. You made my day! I’ll keep you posted on all the goings-on 🙂

  3. Hehe. Definitely do. I lost my Grandma to a bitch of a form of cancer in 2006 and I miss her every single day. Was right there holding her hand when she died. I’d love nothing more than to punch cancer in the face 😉 Glad I could help!

  4. Hey Miss Renee, either my stalker skillz are not what they used to be, or the wordpress doesn’t have a ‘send message’ button. I am sorry to tell you you did not win the draw for making my husband do a crazy moustache, but a fairly nice lady did, and she elected to have him do a Cesar Milan the Dog Whisperer pencil-thin stache and goatee. He was very relieved. Many participants had meaner ideas.

    I still have long hair due to scheduling issues with my hairstylist (aka friend who works at a salon who will do it on the cheap but we both work the exact same hours) but will be completing my end of the deal as soon as we can get together!

    Thanks again for donating to our fundraiser! I thought it would be a funny way to raise $50 for the cancer society, but we ended up sending more than $400. xo

Leave a Reply

