flower fail

I have one sad little sweetpea plant in bloom, and three anemic, very short larkspur.  They are in a mason jar with queen anne’s lace, yarrow and anise hyssop which have taken over my garden.  No picture- husband took the camera to the cabin in the woods and left it there.  I left my seed-starting much too late this year, and my garden has reflected my job turmoil as I throw up my hands and wonder ‘what’s the point’?  But do you know… those green tomatoes are looking pretty good, and they’ll be ripening soon.  That single sweet pea flower has no right to be here in a drought and in this heat… and it smells gorgeous.  Those too-tiny larkspur are an irredescent, almost purple blue.  Beauty even in the failed experiments. 

Leave a Reply

